For readers who want more details before diving in

I know some readers like to know certain details about a book or series before they choose to invest their time in it. This page describes what my books contain for the following:

  • Heat level / sexual content
  • Violence or other traumatic experiences

If you would like more information about a specific topic that isn’t mentioned here, please get in touch and I will add it to the page.

The fairly non-spoilery summary:

The Lord of StarielThe Prince of SecretsThe Court of MortalsThe King of FaerieA Rake of His Own
Max heat level🔥
On-page sex
On-page sex
On-page sex
On-page gore / violence level🩸🩸🩸🩸🩸🩸🩸🩸🩸
Sexual violenceNoneNoneNoneNoneReference to past SA

Spoilers from here on out!

Yes, please tell me the specific details about:

The Stariel Quartet

(Note that there is a separate section for the spinoff book A Rake Of His Own).

Heat level / sexual content

This is a slow-burn romantic series, with the sexual content increasing over the course of the four books. There are sex scenes in later books, though the focus is always more on the emotion than graphic anatomical details. Specifically, the sexual content of the series is:

  • The Lord of Stariel – two kisses
  • The Prince of Secrets – kissing and nudity / heavy petting
  • The Court of Mortals – two on-page sex scenes
  • The King of Faerie – two on-page sex scenes and one fade-to-black scene

Violence or Other Traumatic Experiences

The violence in this series is fairly minimal and not gory in how it is described, but in all the books there is some fantasy violence and some characters are temporarily injured (but recover). If it were a movie, the violence would be rated PG. This setting contains period-typical homophobia and misogyny.

  • The Lord of Stariel – The main character’s father dies before the book starts. The deceased father’s alcoholism is referenced. A queer character is (privately) outed.
  • The Prince of Secrets – A character is shot (but recovers). A villain character is killed with magic.
  • The Court of Mortals – Imprisonment, reference to historic torture.
  • The King of Faerie – Reference to historic torture; a pregnant character fears miscarriage (but this does not come to pass)

A Rake of His Own

Heat level

This m/m spinoff has a slightly higher heat rating than the main quartet. There are three reasonably explicit on-page sex scenes in the book including oral and anal sex, though the focus is always more on the emotions than on anatomy.

Violence or other traumatic experiences

The book contains several murders and associated blood and dead bodies. Characters are injured on-page by stabbing and impalement. One character describes their experience of past sexual assault (in the second half of chapter 26), though the details are implied rather than explicitly described.


The setting for this book includes period-typical homophobia. There are brief references to the MC’s (verbally) abusive father, who is dead before the book begins. Outing – The MC is never publicly outed, but in two separate instances (one supportive; one accusatory), characters in private conversation confront the lead character with the fact that they have guessed his sexuality.